Week 1 redo

The HB and I took a much-needed break and headed to Key West for the 4th of July Holiday. There was lots of walking, cruise biking, some swimming, and general debauchery. YES! I said swimming and biking! The bandage from my surgery finally decided to let go!! Hallelujah!! The incision actually doesn’t look that bad and now I don’t have to feel guilty about ignoring the Dr’s advice and getting in the pool.

sea plane

Getting to the Dry Tortugas

So, last week was supposed to be a trial training week for the HB and I. The plan was to ease back into working out. I was to do Pilates/Physical Therapy every day with a possible swim 1 day just to be in the water. The HB was to swim, bike, run, once this week.

That plan went completely down the drain. I didn’t do any Pilates/PT last week, EPIC FAIL! The HB worked late instead of working out, another EPIC FAIL! I can’t defend him but in my defense, I have the nasty summer cold that my HB and office mates had last week. So I opted to sleep, drink tea, and cook plant strong instead of participating in any kind of work out. The parents and some of our family friends from Jersey also decided to pay me a surprise visit last week. There was waaaay too much eating and walking the beach/river this weekend. I spent Sunday in front of my work laptop with frozen peas on my incision again. Apparently I can over do it and cause swelling still…..

So, this week I decided would be a redo of last week. It is already going better. Sunday I got in a full PT/Pilates session – my lower back and hips thanked me immediately! And!! Are you ready for it??? I got to swim Monday!!! WOOT WOOT!

golfview

I got up early and headed down to LA Fitness for a little swim session. I forgot how much I loved the smell of chlorine in the morning! I didn’t do much of a work out, just a series of drills and a few laps to get my arms and legs moving. Nothing fast or high intensity but it felt fabulous! I love being weightless in the water, its like running, I can solve problems, write papers, organize to do lists. By the time I got to the office my productivity was already up for the day!

The Game is Back On!!

Leave a Reply

