A Solid Week 2

As I sat in my office at 5 pm last Friday evening waiting for the rain to stop and drafting this post, I couldn’t contain my excitement that another week was coming to a close. I took an extra day off and missed a bike session but I really don’t care I’m just beside myself that I made it another week!

early am run

I had another running session with Coach Pat, I’ve made progress and will be increasing the running while decreasing the walking. We ran together Thursday night for about 20 minutes. I felt like hell by the time it was over, my abs and calves are still angry along with my upper back. But hey, one day soon I’ll be back to a full run and covering 3 miles. So, I’ll just keep repeating – Suck it up, Sally! I ran again twice since then – so early in the morning the street lights were my only company but each time it is getting easier. I am finding happiness with the pavement again.

I finally made it out on the bike on Sunday morning with the HB. I was another very early morning, the sun greeted us on the way to Treeline.

early am drive

It wasn’t a great ride for me. It was super windy on the way out and as I neared the end on the way back, I was super squirmy in the saddle. I made sure to checklist my form and keep things in check but mentally, I just wanted to be done. The bike is not my strong suit and I expect I will have more rides like this. But as the Jodster would remind me “The wind makes me strong. The wind in my friend.” I know I am better for having powered through this work out (physically and mentally) and in the end, when its windy on race day, I’ll be prepared.

Last week I also got see a lot of my Tri peeps. It was Pat’s HB’s birthday this week so we all got together for cocktails Friday night. It was great to reconnect with everyone and see that those of us with injuries are back at training. Big C spent the night trying to talk me into racing St. Anthony’s this year…we’ll see how running the next few weeks goes. I would really like to ‘start’ my race season in 2014 during the winter months rather than waiting till Naples in June. I also want to go back to the Olympic Distance races. So, this race has been on my list of possibles. I just know it’s a big, well-known race and I think I want a few other races under my race belt before I take it on. We’ll see how much selling Big C can do in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

