Handling the Unexpected

Last week was craptacular. I tried so hard not to let it damage my training. I’m not sure I succeeded.

Our technician left the employ of our company this week. By left the employ, I mean decided to go to lunch and not return. No resignation letter, no face to face statement, nothing. Our technician’s abrupt and unannounced departure meant I was on my own for the week. I had a calendar full of meetings with little time at my desk for the paper work that is now overdue. I tried really hard not to let it interrupt my training, I went swimming Tuesday just to work out the anger and running Wednesday morning to try to focus for the day ahead and then promptly fell apart missing the rest of my training sessions till Saturday Morning. I was really unhappy that I missed my workouts Wednesday night, Thursday, and Friday so I went to CrossFit Bootcamp Saturday Morning and threw myself into the workout – so much so I thought I was going to meet pukey the clown by the end of it. And then as I drove to work to try to stay ahead, I looked back at the past few days.

I realized in times of chaos I need to do a better job of finding a balance between work and training. I knew if I kept going with this model I would end up where I was just before the Naples Fitness Triathlon in June – with lots of missed training sessions and feeling down about my progress. So this time I did something different.

I got ready for the week ahead on Sunday night, cooking cleaning, packing gym bags, etc. I scheduled a CrossFit class during the week upfront and started calling my Sistas to set up some group training. I knew that this would help me stay on track even with having to put in extra hours to stay afloat at the office. While triathlon may be a lonely sport I find the best thing I can do for myself when life throw a curveball is enlist my Sistas to keep me on track. I’m glad to report that the first group session worked. The HB and I got together with another endurance mista Sunday morning for a ride. Some wind and few intervals later, I was a happy sweaty mess ready to head back to the office. Monday I messed up a bit, opting for more sleep to the pool. But I made it out this morning for a run, my bag is packed to swim this afternoon, and just to make sure I stay on track, I did a little something extra after my run this morning.

post run yoga

Leave a Reply

