To My Sprint/Olympic ‘Sherpa’

Well love, it’s been over a year since I started this crazy endurance journey and exactly one since I finished my first season in tears. As I look back at where we were a year ago, racing side by side there don’t seem to be words for what I want to say. So, how ‘bout I just start with a big thank you for

lugging the camera to every race I’ve ever done to capture the joy, agony, and victory

putting up with the hot mess I become the day week before the race

dealing with laundry on the floor and no food in the fridge while I swim, bike, and run

screaming “Pick it up Mayfield!” right when I need it

knowing not to scream “Pick it up Mayfield!” as the tears of defeat roll down my face

handling rounds of Physical Therapy and the ridiculous insurance bills that come with it

understanding what Hangry means and how to fix it

swimming, biking, and running right next to me even when you’re not racing

spending countless hours with me and my Sistas…even when the Mistas aren’t around

not getting mad when I spend way more than I should on gear and then freak out about the cost of groceries

smiling when I wake you up at an ungodly hour on a Saturday to go work out when you have no reason to be awake

letting me sleep on the couch…at 6 in the evening

and last but certainly not least

supporting me in every way possible literally and figuratively through this journey of triathlon

After Naples 2012

I love this chapter in the adventure we call life and the role you play. I could not put myself through any of the training, races, recovery, or therapy if it weren’t for you being there when I get home, in the lane next to me, and on the pavement as I train, or on the side of the road on race day.  You support me, listen to my training babble, drive while I nap, shout while I ride, and give me a body to lean on when I’m just totally spent. I never would have gotten into this crazy sport without you nor would I be able to survive the highs and low without you.

Survey 2012

Thank you for all the photos, copious amounts of cowbell, and the right words exactly when I need it. I love you and can’t imagine experiencing this journey without you. Here’s to another season in the books and more good things to come.

trail running

Leave a Reply

