The Running Rollercoaster

I was really hoping that at this point I would be starting training for the Gasparilla Half Marathon, it doesn’t look like that is going to happen.

While the HB and I were out in Salt Lake (I completely forgot to upload that post, oops!…coming soon to your screen soon!) the soreness in my left knee started to come back. I attributed it to the ridiculously tiny seats on the airplane that tend to leaving me feeling like a hot mess and the incline every place we went. Unfortunately, it continued when we returned. So I took some time off from running, focused on my strength training, and purchased new shoes.

A few weeks ago, I threw in the towel and called Coach Pat to see if she could see me. I knew something had to be off but could not for the life of me manage it myself. It was a good session. Turns out that I am slooooooowly getting stronger. And even though my heel whip is back, a lot of the other problems I have faced over the past year are not. So we added a few more strength movements to the rotation and I was told not to stop running. Progress! So I didn’t.

I really want to be able to say that I am no longer dealing with soreness but that’s just not true. It seems for every 2 good runs I have with no pain and increased speed I have one that is just awful. I have been logging every little thing lately trying to figure out WTF is going on but there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason it. I am trying not to be down and out about this but I will admit it has been difficult.

The upside is while it seems small, I am stronger than I was when this whole mess started. I can identify issues now before they become so bad that I’m required to take time off from all physical activity. I am doing the best I can to continually remind myself that I have come along way, I’ve made progress and if I keep going down this path, I’ll make it to the place I want to be in.

TriRock was this past weekend, a race report is coming, and while I didn’t reach my goal time I crossed the finish line smiling. The run was slow and I did take 2 walk breaks but they were not until the 2 mile mark so there was a lot of progress. I know that sounds ridiculous that I feel as though I can’t run 3 miles straight…don’t judge too harshly, its been a loooooong road to just 2 miles. I am looking to the off-season with a significant focus on strength and run form after a week off to just clear my head, eat “non race” food, and celebrate professional accomplishments with friends.

I’ve decided I am not going to register for any races, nor am I going to train for a goal race that is months out. If I feel good and want to test myself, I’ll register last-minute for a local 5k or sprint tri and see how it goes. I’ve come along way in the past year and I still have further to go, I just have to keep reminding myself to enjoy the journey.

winning and learning

Leave a Reply

