Runnin’ around this Town

It has been an interesting few weeks in my household. In a little less than a month and a half, I was in 4 different cities outside of the Fort. The trips were evenly divided between work and fun so I really can’t complain. But the best part was, I got to run in all of them. It was fantastic!!

First up was Jacksonville, the subject of my last post.

photo 3 (4)

Next up, the HB and I headed to West Palm Beach to visit my parents and my dad’s brother who was in town visiting. This trip was just a week after Jacksonville so I didn’t expect much. I had been continuing to work on my form so the only goal was to run for 20 to 25 minutes with no pain or soreness. We had a busy day ahead so the HB to the fur baby to the dog park 2 miles away so she could also get some exercise in (she no longer likes to run – go figure!) while I ran toward the dog park. Made it in 23 minutes!! Then we switched Frisbee throwing duties and the HB ran back. Of course, the overachiever beat my time. But I was pain-free that day and days after so I didn’t care.

WPB palms

Two weeks later, I was off to Tallahassee for a work conference. I decided to run Saturday morning before leaving Tallahassee. I think I was still on a high from the conference I attended because I decided to take on Monroe Street knowing full well the Florida hill that it contained. It went slow but I felt good. I finished off running west in the linear park along Park Ave into FSU’s campus. I had no idea how close I was to the University while I was at the conference, I would have done more exploring!

Tally

Tally greenway

Another two weeks and the HB and I were vacationing in Key West celebrating a friend and training buddy’s 40th. Admittedly this run was a bit rough. I unfortunately came down with whatever nasty bug has been making its way around the Fort along with an ear infection. Once it was in my ears I went to see the Doc who of course gave me antibiotics. Unfortunately they came with the lovely side effect of migraines and sensitivity to light. I thought I would be alright during the early morning hours so the HB and I decided to make the most of it. We ran all around town for as long as our legs and my pounding head would let us.

Large Statues Key West

Episcopal Key West

Each trip had great highlights and even better memories. I’ve kept running since this whirlwind and I am very excited to report that each week I have been able to run not only longer but a little bit faster. I have almost met my running goals and am easing back into triathlon training. I’m waiting to see how the next 3 weeks go before making any race plans, but I am cautiously optimistic!

Leave a Reply

