SOAS Black Carbon Gear Review

This gear review has been a long time coming. The anniversary of my revolution around the sun was wwaaaaaaaay back in September, the 27th to be exact. After celebrating with more good food and wine than my system could handle, I decided to spoil myself. I had needed, well more like wanted, a new pair of tri shorts for awhile. I purchased two pairs early on in my adventure into triathlon. To be frank, I made these purchases on financial consideration only. I was not ready to spend a lot of money on gear for a sport that I wasn’t sure I would participate in long term.

Since the end of my 2012 season I had been hunting around the internet reading reviews on all types of tri shorts and finally settled on a pair.

SOAS Brick

SOAS Black Carbon Tri Short. I have been following some of the 2013 SOAS brand ambassadors as they swim bike run various races last season and the one thing they all agree on is the gear is fabulous! So, I thought what the heck and treated myself to a birthday gift.

I have to say, these tri shorts are awesome! There aren’t enough positive words in the dictionary to write about them. They showed up on my doorstep just a few days after I ordered them. Just in time for and OWS/bike brick the HB and I had planned to get ready for TriRock! I was a bit nervous that they wouldn’t be all that I expected. However, they did not disappoint.

The “yoga” waistband is fantastic. There’s no digging into your stomach in aero or ugly red marks when your done training. The  legs are wider than ‘standard’ and there are no little red dots when you’re done! Even as I stripped my wetsuit with a too short tri top on, the shorts stayed in place instead of rolling awkwardly around the waist or legs.

The fleece chamois is a god send. For the first time in a long time, I wasn’t itching to get off the bike because of rubbing or pinching. Since that first training session, I have worn them on the indoor trainer for over an hour, during bridge repeats on the Sanibel Causeway, and for TriRock Clearwater. But, this wouldn’t be a review if there weren’t some down sides. However, I will admit the only downside is completely my fault.

The bad news: I ordered a medium. I tend to be very skeptical of sizing charts because inevitably if I follow them and order the size I’m supposed to, the item never fits. So I always order a size up. Well, you don’t have to do that with SOAS! Another blessing from a female run company I guess! The sizing chart had my measurements as a small and while the medium fits, stays put, and doesn’t rub I think the small would be even better.

If you’re looking for new tri gear, check out SOAS!

 

Leave a Reply

