Finding the Road Back

Well faithful readers, as you know I started running again at the top of the new year. I found some weaknesses that I’ve been working on. I met my goal of being able to run to 40 minutes without pain and even though I am not at the point of being able to cover 4 miles in that 40 miles, I’ll get there eventually. The next step was to start adding riding to the mix. So, a few weeks ago I did just that. It was a bit of an eye opener as the bike highlights a weakness I found in my left leg more than running. So, I still have some work to do, but I’ve been riding for an hour or more each session, without pain. Its been 5 weeks of bike, run, strength, stretch and little bit of swimming with no pain. I could not be more excited about my progress.

Ridin' with the SumwaltsCouldn’t ask for better riding buddies than these two!

So what’s next? Officially, the St. Augustine Half Marathon on November 14th. My best friend from high school and I both needed some motivation to keep moving and meeting our goals. So we signed up for the half together. I’ve never made it to the starting line of a half before. Each time I tried I ended up on the injured reserve list. I’m committed to making this time different. We’ve been sending each other progress photos of our workouts. I love technology for the fact that even though we live 9 hours away from each other, we can still keep each other moving forward.

Thornton Park

Runnin’ in the Thornton Park Historic District, Downtown Orlando

I know November 14th is a looooong way off from April 21st but I have already started foundation running and am adding some light speed work to the mix. Things have gone so well in the past two weeks that I am looking at the tri schedule to do a sprint and an olympic distance race before October just to keep things interesting and my motivation high. Although this past week was a slooooow one and I was as worn out as the pup I did manage to get some workouts in and for the first time in a long time the days off weren’t because I hurt!

Worn out Pup

I have no idea how she crashes like this.

Despite the time off, I still feel great. It took me quite a long winding road to get here but I think I can finally say, “I’m back, bitches!”

One response to “Finding the Road Back

Leave a Reply

