Week #1

If I’m going to drag myself across the finish line of the Naples Olympic in September, I had to get serious about training. So, I went all out last week. Given how much I slept between Friday evening and Saturday morning, I probably should’ve eased into it a bit more.

I didn’t make all my swim, bike, run workouts. My knee has been feeling off – not painful but just like something is amiss. So I took it easy running. I space cadeted packing my gym bag Tuesday and ended up at LA Fit with no swim cap or goggles. That could’ve been awful but thankfully I had an old pair of running shoes in the car and was able to get in some strength training.

run shoes

Wednesday evening I had a change to my schedule and was able to bike outside!! Rather than 9 o’clock at night on the trainer. It was fabulous!! I made it home just as the evening rain drops started. Woot woot. Despite the less than stellar run this week, I was happy I got to ride outside and the extra strength training made me mentally feel better.

bike shadows

Saturday morning I took my first Pilates class. It was a mat class, not too different from the PT exercises I still do on a regular basis but it made me realize how far I’d come. There was a time when all the knee garbage started that I couldn’t execute the movements with good form let alone do many in a row. Today, while I still can’t draw a circle on the wall with my left toes to save my life! I am getting closer. Saturday I wasn’t the weakest in the class and I didn’t have to stop and rest. While I may have been disappointed running last week, my body reminded me that I have come along way. For that I am thankful and hopeful that I can keep up the progress. If I can make it through 4 solid weeks of swim, bike, run I’ve set a goal to sign up for the Naples Olympic. Here’s to strong bodies and minds and being stronger than we were but weaker than we will be!

Happy Training Everyone!

Leave a Reply

