Sunshine and Two Wheels

My training has been a bit more intermittent than I would prefer but I’ll get there eventually, right?

While my work schedule has made it difficult for me to get in all the workouts on my training program I have been trying to squeeze in as many as the sunset and weather will allow.

bike shadows 2

I have missed a few sessions on two wheels but, I have also seen crazy gains. I am so excited, I can’t contain myself!!! I started noticing a difference 4th of July weekend. Before M and I took off for the weekend I went for long ride (mostly so I didn’t have to take my bike with me) and when I downloaded my Garmin data I saw it, more speed! It was so damn exciting!! More so than the Osprey, Alligators, and shrimp boats I saw while riding around.

pause

Takin’ a break

Now compared to all my IronSistas my speed is nothing, they still leave me in the dust, but I have been at such a steady (or worse state) on the bike for so long that I rejoice in all the small things. More miles per hour is always something to rejoice!

Between then and now I have kept up with the mini bridge repeats and interval rides. Finally, last weekend I saw it again. This time M and I were climbing the causeway and the rollers when I passed him. Yep! You read that right, I passed him while climbing! It was double fantastic!! He of course was grumpy the whole rest of the ride but I was all smiley, giddy, and doing the happy dance. When I loaded my Garmin data it had gotten even better, I gained more speed! Oh and I passed M more than once during the rest of the ride. In his defense he had a massive hangover but still I never used to be able to keep up either…

sanibel causeway in the rain

Causeway in the Rain

mangrove wall

Interval Ride through the Mangroves

mini bridge repeats

Mini Bridge Repeats

More happy dancing, clapping, and giddiness ensued. All of this of course leads me to wonder what sort of feats I could be pulling off if I struck to the training plan. But it won’t stop me from doing what I can…and adding some of those missed work outs back into the mix. So I’ve made myself a goal, despite the hearings, community meetings, and other such nonsense on my schedule after 5pm, I’m not going to skip anymore bike workouts. I’ve struggled for so long with riding, I can’t wait to see how far the bike love can go!

sunshine and two wheels

Leave a Reply

