Making it Official

It has been far too long since I posted. I promise I haven’t been a couch potato.

Half way through 2015, I’m looking back and thinking “Wow, that went fast!” The economy in Southwest Florida is turning around, which means the office is busier and I’m working way more than I should to stay afloat. But I won’t cry and whine about it because its time something positive happened in our region – and no one would listen anyway!

Connect Takes MiamiConnect Florida Takes Miami

NassauWeekend in Nassau, Bahamas

I have been training while I have been silent. I didn’t train through the entire winter like I had planned but I did refocus in February with a run, cycle, lift program to get myself back in gear and be sure I was building slooooooowly and listening to my body. I didn’t register for a race, just took each day at a time and really focused on my hamstring, knee and getting things where I wanted. The months have flown by, little by little my run splits are getting faster, my bike times are still hovering in the same range but I am able to ride longer and longer each week. And my balancing act on the Bosu ball has become so routine I’ve started adding weights and mixing up the leg work out. In short I felt good and saw progress – which means there is a stupidly large grin on my face.

Trainer RidesMy Christmas present to myself has come in handy

As I look at the calendar with only a few months left of triathlon “season” in Florida its time to share my racing goals on the interwebs and make them official.

As my tri-sistas wound down their training with the Naples Triathlon earlier this month, many of them started looking at their next race. We’ve been strength training, gossiping, cocktailing, laughing, and trying to decide what our next challenge will be. As July 4th quickly approaches, we’ve made the commitment as a team to race the Challenge Family Venice Beach (Florida)race in November. At the peer pressure of my Tri Sistas and in support of my own goals and dreams, I threw myself into a 20 week training program for the 70.3 course. Most of the training I’ve been doing since February was geared toward this goal anyway. Since my body is telling me in can handle it, again I find myself thinking What the Hell!

Running in Ponte VedraRunning in Ponte Vedra during a work conference

Its been 4 weeks since the training program started and I’m in the middle of week 5. My running on some days feels like there are concrete blocks attached to my feet and I’m tired but I’m keeping up and seeing small amounts of progress so I’m determined to keep going. I know that this will be my greatest triathlon challenge. I also know that with my Tri Sistas by my side I will do more than just finish. I am anxious and excited at what the rest of the summer and fall hold. I am also extremely thankful that I have gotten to the point where I am seeing uninjured progress again!

Tri SistasLOVE! my TriSistas

One response to “Making it Official

Leave a Reply

