Rising from the Ashes

I’m well into training for my first 70.3 and it has brought with it a lot of firsts, a lot of surprises, and many moments were I grit my teeth and grind it out.

The weather in the Sunshine State has been miserable. I know many of my Northern friends will tell me to shut my mouth but, the constant deluge has been a little rough. Last week I rode the trainer the 3 hours watching the rain streak down the windows and I couldn’t help but think “how do my Ironman distance friends in snow states do it?”

When I think about the journey triathlon has taken me on I can’t help but hear my rallying song:

“Put on your war paint…strike a match and I’ll burn you to the ground…setting fire to the sky…then I’ll raise you like a phoenix”

There have been many work outs the past few weeks where I put on my war paint and ended stronger and better than when I left the house. There a muscles forming I didn’t know I had. Hello, Calves!  Along with a mental grit I never thought I would find. I’m not sure why I’m just now finding this side of me but, I really don’t mind. I like this person that’s shining through the sunburn, sand and salt.

The best part about her? She’s with me all the time.

OWSOWS – There were actually waves!

dolphin swim

We got to swim with the dolphins

run shoes 2Ran through another pair

Sanibel bridge repeatsBridge Repeats on the Monster

Trainer Ride 3I now understand how people can binge watch NetFlix

One response to “Rising from the Ashes

Leave a Reply

