Week 3

Those of you that have been on the triathlon journey with me for a while, know that week 3 of a new training plan is often a sign of how the rest of the training plan is going to go.

It’s that point where things start to break down and I miss training. Often blamed on my work schedule. While the traveling road show that is my professional life does make it hard to swim, bike, run – I am a planner by profession and when I focus I can do a damn good job planning in my personal life. So, this time around I have decided not to let the traveling be an excuse. I purposefully set aside time in week 3 to focus on the training plan and keep my goals in check.

Then a gem showed up in my inbox, Thank You Hannah Brencher!

“You are not going to punk out at mile 3 and write yourself an ending to this story that isn’t true. You’re going to finish.”

Mile 3 is a reference to a New Year’s run that I’ve done in Central Park for the last few years. It starts at midnight. You run the loop of the park at the stroke of the New Year. There are fireworks. It’s a 4-mile race.

If you are not a seasoned runner then you start to get tired at mile 3. Mile 3 is where you begin huffing and puffing. My friends and I who have run this race before and we know that mile 3 is actually the best mile mark because it’s where the sparkling apple cider in little Dixie cups is waiting for you.

You stop. You cheers one another. You say Happy New Year to the people passing out the Dixie Cups and you keep going because you know the real truth: you are going to make it. You are going to finish. You are capable.

Cheers friends! To whatever your mile 3 looks like. There’s a fire inside and a place you need to be, don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

