Recovery milestones

So I’ve been finished with Physical Therapy for my hip, knee, ankle mess since before New Years. During my last visit with Coach Pat and Eric I was given a very specific running program to follow for the next 5 weeks. I was not to exceed that program nor was I permitted to do anything except run or swim. The goal was to run 3+ miles, hopefully 4 with no pain and then I could incorporate biking into my training.

3 weeks in I was about to embark on my first 3 mile run when I started to come down with congestion and exhaustion. Since then I’ve been back to the doctor 3 times and have had 3 different types of medication for a massive sinus infection. I ran intermittently during this time but never more than 2 miles. The 2 mile mark was for 2 reasons; 1. I never felt well enough to crank out more than that and 2. I would start to feel “funny” in my knee and calf and not want to risk it.

Well, 2 weeks ago I finally got my hands on what I call super antibiotics. And one morning a few days after my first dose I couldn’t sleep – go figure. I also couldn’t go to the pool because I had to take the pup to an evaluation at a doggie day care. So, I did what any rational, just starting to feel better, triathlete would do. I went for a run.

she believed

I decided this run wouldn’t be a therapy session. I wasn’t going to map my route to see exactly how far 3 miles was. I wasn’t going to run the whole time if I didn’t feel like it. And I wasn’t going to do core work when I got back. Just my PT warm up and a run. Me, my Florida Suburban roadways, the blue herons, bunnies, and woodstorks that were out and about at 4:30 am.

A few days after later I finally mapped my run. I made it more than 3 miles! Now, admittedly, I did not run the entire time. I took a break at each more than 90 degree turn in the subdivision (approx each mile) and again at each end of the cul-de-sac by my house. I didn’t time my breaks but they were consistent with the distance I cover when wearing my Timex to mark 30 second rests.

This makes me so happy!! The Tri team starts up again Saturday and all I wanted was to be able to cover 3 miles without soreness or pain. I may still move as slowly as molasses in winter but if it comes with no pain I don’t care! Now to see about that road bike of mine…

new shoes

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Training for Life

Loving the gifts God has given me.

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

321delish

fueling my triathlon obsession with delicious, real food

hannah brencher.

honest essays about growing up, faith + loving others well.

sweet sweat life

swimbikerunyogalifelove

Tri Fatherhood

The gentle art of balancing marriage, parenting, and triathlon

Love and a Six-Foot Leash

One family's adventures with America's forgotten dogs.